Image Map

Tuesday, 26 November 2013

Gothic Tales? Yes, Please!

Dear friends,

In the lovely month of October, to be more precise - on October the 24th, I have received one lovely email from a lovely lass called Emma B. :) The blogosphere knows her as Mab from Mab is Mab :) But you already know about this if you read this post in which I am showing you her first part of the giveaway I won - a Halloween giveaway :) She does really nice bracelets and as I won her giveaway I received a Halloween bracelet + a book. The bracelet did not come unfortunately before Halloween, but a few days later, so I will wear it next year. But the book was much of the issue. Emma used Book Depository to send me the book and that was way later than expected. We were both surprised by how long it took for the pack to come but thankfully enough it managed to come this month...
***
The book I won from lovely Emma is the "Florence&Giles" novel by John Harding. I am currently reading another book so I did not get a chance to start it yet, but you will know about it as soon as I manage to read it. My book shelve of To Be Read books is growing bigger by the moment! In the meanwhile please check below the info from Goodreads :)
 A gripping, sinister Gothic tale inspired by and in the tradition of Henry James's The Turn of the Screw.
In 1891, in a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence and her younger brother are neglected by her guardian uncle. Banned from reading, Florence devours books in secret and talks to herself—and narrates her story—in a unique language of her own invention. By night, she sleepwalks the corridors and is troubled by a recurrent dream in which a mysterious woman appears to threaten her younger brother Giles.
After the sudden violent death of the children's first governess, a second teacher, Miss Taylor, arrives, and immediately strange phenomena begin to occur. Florence becomes convinced that the new governess is a malevolent spirit who means to do Giles harm. Against this powerful enemy, Florence must use all her intelligence and ingenuity to protect her little brother and preserve her private world. This Gothic page-turner in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher is told in a startlingly different and wonderfully captivating narrative voice.
Info from above was taken from HERE :)

About lovely Emma/Mab - I say you drop by her blog HERE and read HERE more about Emma as she got herself tagged in a "50 facts" about oneself game :) Or HERE and see why she named her blog like that ;) Enjoy it!
**NO! I was not payed for this post! I did it out of love for the giveaway present I got from Emma! Spread the love, my friends!**

Yours truly,
The Mab Follower LadyBug :)